Meal Planning: January 14 – 20

I consider Week 2 of my month-at-a-time  meal plan a success! There were two nights that we didn’t follow the meal plan but ate leftovers instead. If we hadn’t, there was a good chance the leftovers would take over the fridge.

I also used my Crock Pot for 3 consecutive days. This is nothing short of a miracle. I’m usually too lazy to clean the crock the same day it’s used (why must it be so awkward to clean? It’s not really that awkward, I know. I’m just lazy.).

Monday January 14: Leftovers
Tuesday January 15: Chicken Bacon Ranch Pizza with PW’s Pizza Crust; soaked navy beans overnight
Wednesday January 16: Leftovers; navy beans cooked overnight in the Crock Pot
Thursday January 17: Maple Baked Beans with Baking Powder Biscuits (Spilling the Beans; How to Cook Everything)
Friday January 18: Leftovers & new batch of Baking Powder Biscuits
Saturday January 19: Mexican Fried Rice (Spilling the Beans); made chicken stock in the Crock Pot
Sunday January 20: Chicken and White Bean Stew with Pesto (Spilling the Beans)

Some of you may notice that I’ve linked to two different recipes for the Baking Powder Biscuits.  That’s because neither is exactly what I made, though both are in the book. I chose the variation that uses 4 t of baking powder and 7/8 c milk. This allows the dough to be handled and cut into biscuits rather than being dropped onto the cookie sheet by a spoon.
I’m so glad got that off my chest. I’d hate to not be completely transparent out here on the interweb.

Leave a Reply

